INJURY NEWS
Sunday, 10/15/1948
Friday 3/3/1948 :
Bernie Creger was injured as he tried to steal a base.
Diagnosis: Pulled Achilles Tendon.
He will be OK in about 5 weeks.
Thursday 3/9/1948 :
Babe Barna was injured being hit by a pitch.
Diagnosis: Broken Finger.
He is out for about 4 weeks.
Thursday 3/23/1948 :
Ewell Blackwell was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Pulled Tricep Muscle.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 8-9 weeks.
Saturday 4/8/1948 :
Woody Main was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Inflamed Bicep Tendon.
He is out for about 4 weeks.
Friday 4/21/1948 :
Karl Drews was injured when he was hit by a line drive.
Diagnosis: Bruised Finger.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 5 days.
Saturday 4/22/1948 :
Fred Vaughn was injured while running the bases.
Diagnosis: Inflamed Hip Muscle.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 5 days.
Tuesday 4/25/1948 :
Fred Hutchinson was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Strained Elbow Ligament.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take one week.
Wednesday 5/3/1948 :
Johnny Antonelli was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Blister On Finger.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 4 days.
Wednesday 5/10/1948 :
Alvin Dark was injured while throwing a ball.
Diagnosis: Inflamed Rotator Cuff Muscle.
He is out for about 4-5 weeks.
Monday 5/22/1948 :
Jesse Walker was injured while throwing a ball.
Diagnosis: Sore Shoulder.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 6 days.
Tuesday 5/23/1948 :
Ben Steiner was injured while running the bases.
Diagnosis: Bruised Heel.
He will be OK in about one week.
Monday 6/12/1948 :
Fred Hutchinson was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Strained Tricep Muscle.
He will be OK in about 2 weeks.
Saturday 6/17/1948 :
Babe Barna was injured while making a catch.
Diagnosis: Torn Rib Cage Muscle.
He will be OK in about 6 weeks.
Tuesday 6/20/1948 :
Johnny Tobin was injured being hit by a pitch.
Diagnosis: Bruised Jaw.
He is out for about one week.
Thursday 6/22/1948 :
Paul O'dea was injured while making a catch.
Diagnosis: Pulled Rib Cage Muscle.
He is out for about 1-2 weeks.
Monday 7/31/1948 :
Don Newcombe was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Sore Shoulder.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 6 days.
Wednesday 8/9/1948 :
Ewell Blackwell was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Stiff Shoulder.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take one week.
Whitey Miller was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Ruptured Bicep Tendon.
He is out for about 3 weeks.
Monday 8/14/1948 :
Jackie Robinson was injured while throwing a ball.
Diagnosis: Blister On Finger.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 5 days.
Thursday 8/24/1948 :
Fred Hutchinson was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Inflamed Elbow Ligament.
He will be OK in about one week.
Friday 8/25/1948 :
Jackie Robinson was injured while running the bases.
Diagnosis: Broken Ankle.
He is definitely out for the season!
Saturday 8/26/1948 :
Dick Starr was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Sore Shoulder.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 5 days.
Monday 8/28/1948 :
Johnny Antonelli was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Strained Rotator Cuff Muscle.
He is out for about 4 weeks.
Monday 9/4/1948 :
Frank Hiller was injured while pitching.
Diagnosis: Inflamed Elbow Ligament.
He will be OK in about 1-2 weeks.
Wednesday 9/6/1948 :
Gene Hasson was injured while running the bases.
Diagnosis: Strained Achilles Tendon.
He is day-to-day, but full recovery will take 1-2 weeks.

Out of the Park Developments - The place for baseball and boxing simulation games
Out of the Park Baseball Homepage - The home of the Out of the Park Baseball Series